Monday, May 22, 2017

Team Knockout June Tournament

Next week Team Knockout is hosting an online tournament via the Pokémon Global Link. The rules are essentially standard VGC rules:

-Double Battle
-Alolal Dex (Excluding legendaries like Solgaleo, Lunala, etc.)
-Migrated Pokémon Not Allowed
-Z-Crystals allowed; No Mega Stones


Registration begins on May 29th at 9am EST (1pm UTC) and runs through June 2nd at 7:59pm EST (11:59pm UTC). Tournament battles will be played through the Battle Spot (just like with any online tournament) from June 2nd at 8pm EST (12:00am UTC) through June 3rd (7:59pm EST; 11:59pm UTC). 

Prizes will be given to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners so long as the follow the guidelines on the Facebook event listing  to confirm they are the players who won those prizes. Prizes include an XYZ Zygarde which has been merged with a Sun/Moon Zygarde to get Power Construct, a shiny Xerneas, or Shiny Yveltal. Once registration opens next Monday, I will post the link for everyone to easily register.

Monday, May 15, 2017

Looking an Event in the Mouth

Voted Most Likely to be a YouTuber
Welcome back to The Fossil Jockey everyone! My hiatus is over, mainly because I have been witnessing something I felt I needed to weigh in on. In the past, The Pokémon Company has been accused of giving WAY more event pokémon away in Japan than other parts of the world. So much so that I wrote an article about that very phenomenon. I made a point to say that when it comes to non-mythical pokémon, or pokémon you could catch/breed/whatever yourself, Japan has us beat. However, starting today, we have access to one such pokémon, Midnight Forme Lycanroc. Is the community happy to finally be seeing more events, even the less rare ones, like they've been asking to get for years?

Nope.

In fact, every post the official Pokémon Facebook has made about it is filled with negative comments pointing to how this event isn't special. In fact, most are complaining about why we have not been given other events instead, specifically mentioning Ash's Pikachu, Marshadow, and Shiny Tapu Koko. The former two events are movie tie ins, so we obviously are not going to get those at least until release dates for the next movie have been announced. The latter is a TCG tie in and the box set revolving around Shiny Tapu Koko does not even hit shelves until July

In short, the pokémon community is looking their gift horse in the mouth. Do you HAVE to drive out to Gamestop and get the code card for this pokémon? No, and most people who know how to SOS chain for Hidden Abilties and research egg moves can get this exact same pokémon (minus the Cherish Ball) all by themselves. However, if you play more casually, you may not know about those things or care to pursue them. This event is geared more towards those people and that should be ok.